The South Florida Regional Planning Council is organized under the authority of Chapter 186, Florida Statutes. In the Council, Broward County and Miami-Dade County are represented by three elected official members and Monroe County is represented by two elected official members. The members are selected from the representative governing body. Monroe has one additional elected official member and Broward and Miami-Dade have two additional elected official members from general purpose municipal governments appointed by the member government. The Governor of the State of Florida appoints a maximum of six voting members with each County entitled to a minimum of one appointment by the Governor. The Governor also appoints certain ex-officio, non-voting members to the Council from the Department of Transportation; the Department of Environmental Protection; a member nominated by Enterprise Florida, Inc. and the Office of Tourism, Trade and Economic Development; and the South Florida Water Management District. All appointees are eligible for reappointment. Each voting member on the Council has an equal vote, and members serve three-year terms, which are staggered. No Council member may serve more than three consecutive three-year terms.


  • The South Florida Regional Planning Council is a planning and public policy agency. The policy document, which guides all of the Council’s activities, is the Strategic Regional Policy Plan for South Florida (SRPP). Council members are responsible for addressing regional priorities and providing assistance and policy guidance to local governments as supported by the SRPP.
  • While membership is organized to geographically represent the South Florida region, provide diverse perspectives, and protect various interests, the role of Council members is to consider the regional implication of issues brought before the Council. The ex-officio members serve as a resource to provide information and recommendations in their respective areas of expertise. Unlike elected positions, members of the South Florida Regional Council are limited to an advisory capacity rather than in a directed or regulatory capacity.


Mario J. Bailey, Chair
Mario J. Bailey, ChairMiami-Dade County Governor's Appointee / Member, FRCA Policy Board
Steve Geller, First Vice Chair
Steve Geller, First Vice ChairMayor of Broward County
Samuel Kaufman, Second Vice Chair
Samuel Kaufman, Second Vice ChairKey West City Commissioner
Beam Furr, Treasurer
Beam Furr, TreasurerBroward County Commissioner
Jordan Leonard, Secretary
Jordan Leonard, SecretaryTown of Bay Harbor Islands Councilmember / Member, FRCA Policy Board
Greg Ross, Past Chair
Greg Ross, Past ChairMayor of Cooper City


Michelle Coldiron
Michelle ColdironMayor of Monroe County
Joseph M. Corradino
Joseph M. CorradinoMayor of Village of Pinecrest
Rene Garcia
Rene GarciaMiami-Dade County Commissioner
Oliver Gilbert, III
Oliver Gilbert, IIIMiami-Dade County Commissioner
Cary Goldberg
Cary GoldbergBroward County Governor's Appointee
Eddie Martinez
Eddie MartinezMonroe County Commissioner
Jean Monestime
Jean MonestimeMiami-Dade County Commissioner
Michael Udine
Michael UdineBroward County Vice Mayor / Member, FRCA Policy Board
Ana Ziade
Ana ZiadeMayor of North Lauderdale
Jason Andreotta, Ex-Officio Member
Jason Andreotta, Ex-Officio MemberDistrict Director, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, (Southeast District)
Lorraine Mayers, Ex-Officio Member
Lorraine Mayers, Ex-Officio MemberRegional Representative South Florida Water Management District
Dat Huynh, P.E., Ex-Officio Member
Dat Huynh, P.E., Ex-Officio MemberDistrict Planning and Environmental Administrator FDOT District 6