The South Florida Regional Planning Council (Council) is one of Florida’s ten regional planning councils. It was formed in 1969 as the Tri-County Jetport Council to address issues related to the proposed development of the “Everglades Jetport” in Big Cypress.

The Council serves three counties: Monroe, Miami-Dade, and Broward; 71 municipalities; and 4.3 million residents. Over the next 20 years, the Region is expected to grow to an increasingly diverse estimated population of more than 4.9 million residents.

Specific rights, responsibilities, and powers of the Regional Planning Councils are defined in Florida Statutes. The Legislature has recognized the Councils as Florida’s “only multipurpose regional entity that is in position to plan for and coordinate intergovernmental solutions to growth-related problems on greater-than local issues, provide technical assistance to local governments, and meet other needs of the communities in each region.” In addition, over time the Councils have evolved and developed unique areas of expertise in response to the needs of their regions.

The Strategic Regional Policy Plan for South Florida (SRPP) guides the Council in all of its activities. Created with broad public input and adopted into administrative rule, the SRPP focuses on 22 goals that reflect the priority issues of the Region. The SRPP contains regional policies and strategies for improvement in each goal area with targets and indicators to measure progress.

The Council has statutory responsibilities related to local government comprehensive plans, developments of regional impact, and intergovernmental permits and grant application review. The Strategic Regional Policy Plan (SRPP) is focused on 22 goals that reflect priority issues of the Region that are likely to impact South Florida over the next 20 – 25 years. Mandated by statute and adopted by rule into the Florida Administrative Code, this Plan was created through a regional process in which key public, private, and non-profit stakeholders participated in the identification of key issues and development of regional goals and policies. The SRPP guides the Council’s activities and serves as the policy document used in our review of local government comprehensive plans and amendments.

Seven50 (“seven counties, 50 years”) is a blueprint for growing a more prosperous, more desirable Southeast Florida during the next 50 years and beyond. The plan is being developed to help ensure socially inclusive communities, a vibrant and resilient economy, and stewardship of the fragile ecosystem in what is quickly becoming one of the world’s most important mega-regions.

Spearheaded by the South Florida and Treasure Coast Regional Planning Councils and the Southeast Florida Regional Partnership (SFRP), it is a unique collaboration of more than 200 public, private, and civic stakeholders. Seven50 is mapping the strategy for the best possible quality of life for the more than six million residents of Monroe, Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Martin, St. Lucie, and Indian River counties.

The Council is governed by a unique public/private sector board comprised of 18 voting members. Two-thirds of the Board members are county and city elected officials. The remaining members are appointed by the Governor. Additionally, the Board has four ex-officio members representing the Florida Departments of Economic Opportunity, Environmental Protection and Transportation, and the South Florida Water Management District.