Hollywood, FL – The South Florida Regional Planning Council (SFRPC) is proud to announce the selection of Councilmember Sandra Walters to serve as President of the Florida Regional Councils Association (FRCA) Policy Board.  She will serve on FRCA, which is an alliance of Florida’s ten Regional Planning Councils, alongside Indian River County Commission Peter O’Bryan (1st Vice President – TCRPC), Leon County Commissioner Kristen Dozier (2nd Vice President – ARPC), and Councilwoman Roxanne Horvath (Immediate Past President – NEFRC).

2 men and a woman at a desk smiling at camera. They are members of the SFRPC.Every year the Policy Board of FRCA selects two elected officials (county and municipal) and one Governor’s appointee to serve on the FRCA Policy Board.  Twice a year the Policy Board meets to discuss issues impacting Florida’s RPC’s, to share information with its partners and to set a legislative agenda.

Currently, Councilmember Walters serves on the SFRPC as a Governor’s Appointee by Governors Jeb Bush, Charlie Crist and Rick Scott.  She has chaired SFRPC in 2009 and 2015.  Councilmember Walters has more than 30 years of professional experience as a qualified Expert Witness in Florida administrative hearings and court proceedings, has conducted and supervised environmental studies, and developed avoidance and mitigation plans, in all South Florida submerged and upland habitats.  She serves on EPA’s Water Quality Steering and Technical Advisory committees for the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary, and served four years beginning in 2000 as a Governor’s appointee on Florida’s Acquisition and Restoration Council, which supervises purchase and management of State conservation land.

Also serving on the FRCA Policy Board are SFRPC members, Councilmember Mario J. Bailey, and alternates Councilmember M. Margaret Bates and Chair Greg Ross.


About South Florida Regional Planning Council

The SFRPC is a public policy agency providing state and local policymakers with the information they need to build South Floridians a better future.  Our geographic areas of responsibility encompass Broward County, Miami-Dade County, and Monroe County, and all of their municipalities.