The South Florida Regional Planning Council (SFRPC) is delighted to welcome Miami-Dade Commissioner Jean Monestime to the Council.  Commissioner Monestime previously served on the Council from 2011 – 2014.  He joins Commissioner Daniela Levine Cava and Commissioner Jose “Pepe” Diaz as Miami-Dade County’s representatives on the Council.  “Commissioner Monestime contributed greatly to the work of the Council during his service on the Council.  We are delighted to welcome him back as we work to address the critical issues and opportunities of the region,” said Chair Greg Ross, Mayor of Cooper City.

headshot of Commissioner Monestime in a dark suit and white tieCommitted to public service and the gift of service to others, Commissioner Monestime was first elected in 2010 to represent District 2 on the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners serving portions of the City of Miami, North Miami, North Miami beach, Opa-locka, and the unincorporated areas of Liberty City, Biscayne Gardens and North Central Dade.

In 2014 he was re-elected and selected to serve as Chairman of the Miami-Dade Board of County Commissioners for two years. Municipal, school board, and commission colleagues chose Commissioner Monestime in 2015 to preside over the Miami-Dade Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Governing Board.  Other public service includes serving as a Councilman and Vice-Mayor in the City of North Miami, a delegate to the National Democratic Convention and Florida Electoral College Member for the 2012 U.S. Presidential election.

Prior to public office, Commissioner Monestime was a former Miami-Dade County Public School teacher and adjunct professor of management at the University of Phoenix, South Florida campus.  Currently, he is the president of a real estate and insurance company, and a business consulting agency.

Commissioner Monestime advocates for equal justice and economic development.  He intends to bring his passions as a 30-year resident of Miami-Dade County and public servant to the SFRPC.

About South Florida Regional Planning Council

The SFRPC is a public policy agency providing state and local policymakers with the information they need to build South Floridians a better future.  The South Florida region is comprised of Monroe, Miami-Dade, and Broward counties. For additional information about the Council, please visit

Cindy Martin