



DATE: JANUARY 27, 2025

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

FROM: STAFF

SUBJECT: NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT / ELECTION OF OFFICERS

\_\_\_\_\_

Prior to the January Council Meeting each year, the Chair appoints a Nominating Committee to recommend a new member to fill the position of Secretary on the Executive Committee. This recurring vacancy occurs as the prior Immediate-Past Chair rotates off the Committee and the remaining Executive Committee members advance their respective positions. The Nominating Committee appointed by Chair Geller consists of Councilmember Cates (Monroe County), 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair García (Miami-Dade County), and Chair Geller (Broward County).

The current members of the Executive Committee are:

- Chair Steve Geller (Broward County)
- First Vice Chair Michelle Lincoln (Monroe County)
- Second Vice Chair René García (Miami-Dade County)
- Treasurer Cary Goldberg Broward, Governor's Appointee)
- Secretary Denise Horland (Broward, Municipal)
- Immediate Past Chair Vacant

At its January 17<sup>th</sup> meeting, the Nominating Committee unanimously voted to recommend the following slate of officers for 2025:

- Chair Michelle Lincoln (Monroe County)
- First Vice Chair René García (Miami-Dade County)
- Second Vice Chair Cary Goldberg (Governor's Appointee, Broward County)
- Treasurer Denise Horland (Municipal Appointee Broward County)
- Secretary Frank Caplan (Municipal Appointee Miami-Dade County)
- Immediate Past Chair Steve Geller (Broward County)

<u>Recommendation:</u> Ratify the Nominating Committee's recommendation of Executive Committee Members for 2025.



## SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL COUNCILMEMBERS, EX OFFICIOS

## **DECEMBER 2024**

Senator Steve Geller, (Chair), Commissioner, Broward County

Michelle Lincoln, (First Vice Chair), Commissioner, Monroe County

Senator René García, (Second Vice Chair), Commissioner, Miami-Dade County

Cary Goldberg, (Treasurer), Governor's Appointee Broward County

Denise Horland, (Secretary), Councilmember, Plantation

(Immediate Past Chair),

Frank H. Caplan, Councilmember, Village of Key Biscayne

Craig Cates, Commissioner, Monroe County

Joseph Corradino, Mayor, Village of Pinecrest

Oliver G. Gilbert, III, Chair and Commissioner, Miami-Dade County

Samuel Kaufman, Vice Mayor, Key West

Quentin "Beam" Furr, Vice Mayor, Broward County

Kionne McGhee, *Commissioner*, *Miami-Dade County*Michael Udine, *Commissioner*, *Broward County* 

Isabel Cosio Carballo, *Executive Director*Sam Goren, *Legal Counsel* 

**Ex Officio Members** 

Sirena Davila, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Dat Huynh, Florida Department of Transportation, District Six

Victoria Peters, Florida Department of Transportation, District Four

Armando L. Vilaboy, South Florida Water Management District