



March 6, 2024

Dear Regional Stakeholders,

The <u>South Florida</u> and <u>Treasure Coast</u> Regional Planning Councils are pleased to invite you to our upcoming Joint Council Meeting featuring a timely conversation on Property Insurance, Transportation, Florida's Coral Reef, and the 2024 Florida Legislative Session. The Councils will meet on Friday, March 15th, from 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., at the <u>Palm Beach Transportation</u> <u>Planning Agency</u> located at 301 Datura Street in West Palm Beach, Florida.

Property Insurance costs continue to skyrocket pushing residents and businesses out of Southeast Florida, transportation gridlock is an everyday occurrence, and Florida's Coral Reef is experiencing a high mortality rate with significant adverse economic, environmental, and coastal, and community resilience impacts. This meeting will feature a deep dive into Florida's Property Insurance Crisis focused on Challenges and Possible Solutions; a presentation by the South Florida Regional Transportation Authority (SFRTA) on its current activities and future plans; a 2024 Florida Legislative Session update following the anticipated conclusion of the Legislative Session on March 8th; and an update on Florida's Coral Reef.

The meeting will be co-chaired by The Honorable Steve Geller, Broward County Commissioner and Chair of the South Florida Regional Planning Council (SFRPC), and The Honorable Doug Smith, Martin County Commissioner and Chair of the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council (TCRPC). The South Florida and Treasure Coast Regional Planning Councils represent the seven-county Southeast Florida region of Monroe through Indian River counties. This meeting has been publicly noticed and is an in-person meeting only. Don't miss this unique opportunity to lunch and learn about these and other regional issues.

Confirmed Guests / Subject Matter Experts

- SFRPC Chair Steve Geller, Broward County Commissioner, former State Senator, Past National President, National Conference of Insurance Legislators
- U.S. Congressman Jared Moskowitz, 23rd District Florida
- State Representative Hillary Cassell, 101st District Florida
- Paul Handerhan, MBA, CPCU, ARe, AIAF, President, Federal Association for Insurance Reform and FAIR Foundation

- Stacey Giulanti, Esquire, Chief Legal Officer, Florida Peninsula Insurance Company
- Mel E. Montagne, CPCU, ARM, CRIS; President, Fair Insurance Rates for Monroe
- Valerie Neilson, Executive Director, Palm Beach Transportation Planning Agency
- David Dech, Executive Director, South Florida Regional Transportation Authority
- Ron L. Book, Founder, President & CEO of Ron L Book, P.A.
- Kathy Copeland, Indian River County Legislative Affairs and Communications Manager
- Ed Chase, Palm Beach County Director of Intergovernmental Relations and Community Engagement
- Kasey Denny, Palm Beach County Director of Legislative Affairs
- Marty Cassini, Esq., Broward County Director of Intergovernmental Affairs / Boards Section
- Lisa Tennyson, Monroe County Legislative Director
- SFRPC Councilmember & Broward County Commissioner Beam Furr, Co-Chair, SFRPC TCRPC Florida's Coral Reef Work Group
- TCRPC Chair & Martin County Commissioner Doug Smith, Co-Chair, SFRPC TCRPC Florida's Coral Reef Work Group

The semi-annual joint SFRPC / TCRPC Council Meetings bring together elected officials and decisionmakers to hear from experts on issues of shared concern and reach a consensus on how to address those issues for the betterment of Southeast Florida. We look forward to seeing you on March 15th!

For additional information and assistance, please contact:



Isabel Cosio Carballo, Executive Director, (954) 924-3653, <u>isabelc@sfrpc.com</u>; or Kathe Lerch, Director of Administration, (954) 924-3653; <u>sfadmin@sfrpc.com</u>



Tom Lanahan, Executive Director, (772) 221-4060, <u>tlanahan@tcrpc.org</u>; or Liz Gulick, Office Administrator, (772) 221-4060, <u>lgulick@tcrpc.org</u>

###

The membership of the Regional Planning Councils consists of county and municipal elected officials, gubernatorial appointees, and ex-officio members from the Florida of Department of Commerce, the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, the Florida Department of Transportation, South Florida Regional Transportation Authority, and the South Florida Water Management District. The South Florida RPC represents Monroe, Miami-Dade, and Broward counties. The Treasure Coast RPC represents Palm Beach, Martin, St. Lucie, and Indian River counties. The Councils support the region's elected leaders and public, private, and nonprofit stakeholders through regional, collaborative planning and the development and implementation of programs and strategies which create a better future for Southeast Florida.