

MEMORANDUM

AGENDA ITEM #IV.F

DATE: MARCH 18, 2024

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

FROM: STAFF

SUBJECT: MIAMI-DADE COUNTY FLOOD RESPONSE PLAN PRESENTATION

The Miami-Dade County Department of Emergency Management supports the community's disaster preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation needs through the coordination of information and resources countywide. Over the last year, DEM has brought additional focus to Miami-Dade County's flood response planning, and response and recovery capabilities.

The Miami-Dade County Department of Emergency Management has developed the County's first Flood Response Plan (FRP) with the goal of operationalizing county and stakeholder activities before, during, and after rain incidents, such as the one that occurred April 12 – 14, 2023 in Broward County. The final draft Flood Response Plan is the result of six meetings and ongoing input from broad-based stakeholder group including the National Weather Service, FEMA, South Florida Water Management District (SFWMD), County Departments, municipalities, and community-based organizations. The membership of the Florida Response Plan Members follows later in this agenda item.

Flood Response Plan Highlights:

- 1. Outlines preparedness, response, and recovery activities that will enhance the effectiveness of flood response measures in Miami-Dade County.
- 2. Describes the response, coordination, and decision-making structure that will inform the MD-DEM, as well as municipal, state, volunteer/non-profit, and private organizations during the flood response.
- 3. Defines the roles and responsibilities for the MD-DEM, county departments, municipal, state, volunteer/non-profit, and private organizations for flood events.
- 4. Identifies available resources (ongoing through engagement) at the local, state, volunteer/non-profit, private, and federal levels to assist the whole community due to the flood hazard in Miami-Dade County.



This plan is designed to accomplish the following:

- 1. Provide effective intra-agency and inter-agency cooperation and communications before, during, and after a flood incident.
- 2. Achieve a coordinated response consistent with prevailing conditions and information provided by multiple agencies including the National Weather Service, South Florida Water Management District, Miami-Dade County Departments, municipalities, and water control districts within and affecting Maimi-Dade County, and other sources.
- 3. Define the roles and responsibilities of the County, municipalities, state and federal agencies, volunteer/non-profit, and private organizations involved in flood preparedness, response, and recovery.
- 4. Outline procedures to be utilized in minimizing the effects of a flood emergency in Miami-Dade County.

Recommendation: Information Only





Flood Response Plan Members:

Miami Dade County Oversight Committee			
Name	Agency/Dept - Title	Email	
Pete Gomez	DEM – Director	Pete.Gomez@miamidade.gov	
Dr. Jesse Spearo	DEM – Asst. Director	Jesse.spearo@miamidade.gov	
Jimmy Morales	OM – COO	jimmy.morales2@miamidade.gov	
Lourdes Gomez	RER – Director	lourdes.gomez@miamidade.gov	
Jim Murley	OoR – Chief Resilience	james.murley@miamidade.gov	
	Officer		
Roy Coley	WASD - Director	roy.coley@miamidade.gov	
Eulois Cleckley	DPTW - Director	eulois.cleckley@miamidade.gov	
Irela Bague	OoR - Chief Bay Officer	irela.bague@miamidade.gov	
Johanna Cervone	OM – Mayor's COS	johanna.cervone@miamidade.gov	
Sean McCrackine	OM – Director of Policy	sean.mccrackine@miamidade.gov	
Miami Dade County Taskforce Stakeholders			
Tracy McGill	DEM – Executive Officer	Tracy.mcgill@miamidade.gov	
Sherry Capers	DEM – Manager	Sherry.capers@miamidade.gov	
Robin Yang	DEM – Planner	Robin.yang@miamidade.gov	
Dr. Patricia Gomez	OoR - Deputy Resilience	patricia.gomez@miamidade.gov	
	Ofc.		
Karina Castillo	OoR – Resilience	karina.castillo@miamidade.gov	
	Program Manager		
Kim Brown	OoR – Dir. Of Resilience	kimberly.brown@miamidade.gov	
	Planning		
Christian Kamrath	OoR- Resilience Program	christian.kamrath@miamidade.gov	
	Manager		
Alan Tiano	OMB – Grants Coord.	alan.tiano@miamidade.gov	
Debbie Griner	WASD - Resilience Mgr.	debbie.griner@miamidade.gov	
Marina Blanco-Pape	RER – Water	marina.blanco-pape@miamidade.gov	
	Management Div. Chief		
Lisa Spadafina	DERM – Director	lisa.spadafina@miamidade.gov	
Josenrique Cueto	DTPW - Chief Product	josenrique.cueto@miamidade.gov	
	Delivery Officer		
Josiel Ferrer-Diaz	DPTW – Traffic Asst.	josenrique.cueto@miamidade.gov	
	Dir.		
Adrian Chamberlin	OM – Asst. to the Chief	adrian.chamberlin@miamidade.gov	
Leah Watson	OM – Asst. to the Chief	leah.weston@miamidade.gov	
Rachel Johnson	OM – Mayor's Deputy	rachel.johnson2@miamidade.gov	
	Chief of Staff		
Jorge Damian de la Paz	OM – Deputy Dir. Of	jorge.damiandelapaz@miamidade.gov	
	Policy		
Juan Visser	OM – Deputy Dir. Of	juan.visser@miamidade.gov	
	Equality and Engagement		
Carolina Maran	SFWMD – Resiliency	cmaran@sfwmd.gov	
	Officer		





Michael Mcnees	USACE	Michael.C.Mcnees@usace.army.mil
Crystal Schaefer	FDOT	Crystal.Schaefer@dot.state.fl.us
Karly Pulido	MDC Public Schools -	kpulido@dadeschools.net
	Sustainability Officer	
Brett Bibeau	Miami River Commission	brettbibeau@aol.com
	 Managing Director 	
Nikisha Williams	Miami Foundation –	nwilliams@miamifoundation.org
	Managing Director	
Zelalem Adefris	Catalyst Miami - CEO	zelalema@catalystmiami.org
Rachel Prestipino	Catalyst Miami -VP	rachelp@catalystmiami.org
	Policy and Community	
	Engagement	
Camilo Mejia	Catalyst Miami –	camilom@catalystmiami.org
	Networks Director	
Yoca Arditi-Rocha	CLEO – Executive	yoca@cleoinstitute.org
	Director	
Olivia Collins	CLEO – Senior Director	olivia@cleoinstitute.org
	of Programs	
Joanne Perodin	CLEO – Senior Director	jperodin@cleoinstitute.org
	of Climate Equity	
Jeanette Ruiz	Miami Climate Alliance -	miamiclimatealliance@gmail.com
	Program Director	
Claudia Sebastiani	ISEEChange –	claudia@iseechange.com
	Community Manager	
Julia Kumari Drapkin	ISEEChange – CEO	julia@iseechange.com
Adrian Plasencia	City of Miami Fire	aplasencia@miamigov.com
	Rescue – Emergency Mgr	
Shari Lipner	Miami Beach EM -	sharilipner@miamibeachfl.gov
6 1 11	Administrator	1 20 11
Carols Alvarez	MDPD – Lt. IMT	caalvarez2@mdpd.com
Anthony Garcia	MDFR – Div. Chief	anthony.garcia@miamidade.gov
	Special Ops	
Carmen Castro	MDPD – Div. Chief	cmcastro@mdpd.com
Claudia Baker	FDEM-Region 10	Claudia.Baker@em.myflorida.com
D	Response Coordinator	1 0 0 0
Dana McGeehan	FDEM-Region 10	dana.mcgeehan@em.myflorida.com
	Recovery Coordinator	
Joe Fernandez	FIU – Senior Director	jrfernan@fiu.edu
Dr. Tiffany Troxler	FIU– Associate Professor	troxlert@fiu.edu
Robert Molleda	NWS - Warning Coord.	Robert.molleda@noaa.gov
Chuia Danan	Meteorologist	Vincilia nanag@fama dha aan
Chris Perez	FEMA – Regional	Virgilio.perez@fema.dhs.gov
Davil Ward 1	Floodplain Management	hlusakiaslakalan 10 a
Paul Womble	Blue Skies Professional	blueskieslakeland@gmail.com
*OM - Office of the Mayor	Services	

*OM - Office of the Mayor