



DATE: FEBRUARY 26, 2024

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

FROM: STAFF

SUBJECT: NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT / ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Prior to January of each year when the Council ratifies its Executive Committee, the Chair elects a Nominating Committee to recommend a new member to fill the position of Secretary as the Immediate-Past Chair rotates off the Committee and the remaining members advance in position. The Nominating Committee was appointed in November 2023 by Chair Geller and consists of Treasurer García (Miami-Dade County), First Vice Chair Kaufman (Monroe County), and Councilmember Udine (Broward County). Having received input from the Council Members at the January 23rd meeting, and a new open slot following Councilmember Furr's resignation from the Executive Committee, the Nominating Committee reconvened on February 23, 2024, to nominate a new slate of Executive Committee Officers for consideration at the February 26th Council Meeting.

The current members of the Executive Committee are:

- Chair Steve Geller (Broward County)
- First Vice Chair Sam Kaufman (Monroe County Municipal)
- Second Vice Chair Beam Furr (Broward County)
- Treasurer René García (Miami-Dade County)
- Secretary Michelle Lincoln (Monroe County)
- Immediate Past Chair Mario Bailey (Miami-Dade County, Governor's Appointee)

At its February 23rd meeting, the Nominating Committee unanimously voted to recommend the following slate of officers for 2024:

- Chair Steve Geller (Broward County)
- First Vice Chair Michelle Lincoln (Monroe County)
- Second Vice Chair René García (Miami-Dade County)
- Treasurer Cary Goldberg (Governor's Appointee, Broward County)
- Secretary Denise Horland (Municipal Appointee Broward County)
- Immediate Past Chair Mario Bailey (Miami-Dade County, Governor's Appointee)

Recommendation: Select the Executive Committee Members for 2024.



SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL COUNCILMEMBERS, EX OFFICIOS JANUARY 2024

Senator Steve Geller, (Chair), Commissioner, Broward County Quentin "Beam" Furr, (First Vice Chair), Vice Mayor, Broward County René García, (Second Vice Chair), Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Michelle Lincoln, (Treasurer), Commissioner, Monroe County Samuel Kaufman, (Secretary), Vice Mayor, Key West Mario J. Bailey, (Immediate Past Chair), Governor's Appointee Miami-Dade County Frank H. Caplan, Councilmember, Village of Key Biscayne Craig Cates, Commissioner, Monroe County Joseph Corradino, Mayor, Village of Pinecrest Oliver G. Gilbert, III, Chair and Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Cary Goldberg, Governor's Appointee Broward County Denise Horland, Councilmember, Plantation Kionne McGhee, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Greg Ross, Mayor, Cooper City Michael Udine, Commissioner, Broward County Isabel Cosio Carballo, Executive Director

Ex Officio Members

Sam Goren, Legal Counsel

Sirena Davila, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Dat Huynh, Florida Department of Transportation, District Six

Armando L. Vilaboy, South Florida Water Management District