SOUTHEAST FLORIDA COUNTY MAYORS' AFFORDABLE HOUSING CONVERSATION

In collaboration with the Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council and Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe counties

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 29, 2023 1:30 – 3:30 PM

Zoom & In-Person - REGISTRATION IS REQUESTED

REGISTER NOW

Physical: South Florida Regional Planning Council

1 Oakwood Boulevard, Suite 250

Hollywood, FL 33020

954.924.3653 | sfadmin@sfrpc.com

Zoom: Click Here to Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 878 7699 0540

Passcode: 073710

Dial by your location +1 305 224 1968 +1 301 715 8592





Thank You to Our Partners for Their Participation!









Draft Agenda

1:30 p.m. Welcome, Pledge of Allegiance, Opening Remarks, & Self-Introductions

Meeting Facilitator: The Honorable Senator *Steve Geller*, SFRPC Chair; Chair, Florida Association of Counties Community & Urban Affairs Policy Committee; Broward County Commissioner

1:45 p.m. Opening

- o The Honorable *Daniella Levine Cava*, Mayor, Miami-Dade County
- o The Honorable *Lamar Fisher*, Mayor, Broward County
- o The Honorable *Gregg Weiss*, Mayor, Palm Beach County
- o The Honorable *Craig Cates*, Mayor, Monroe County

2:05 p.m. County Reports on their Respective Affordable Housing Programs including Best Practices, Challenges, and Opportunities

Facilitator: Sandra Veszi Einhorn, Executive Director, The Coordinating Council of Broward

- Alex Ballina, Director, Miami-Dade County Public Housing and Community Development
- o *Ralph Stone*, Director, Housing Finance Division /Executive Director, Broward County Housing Authority
- o Jonathan Brown, Director, Palm Beach County Housing and Economic Development
- Emily Schemper, AICP, CFM, Senior Director of Planning & Environmental Issues, Monroe County

2:50 p.m. Exploration of Opportunity to Develop Shared Affordable Housing Legislative Priorities for the 2024 State Legislative Session

Facilitator: The Honorable Senator Steve Geller, SFRPC Chair

- o The Honorable Daniella Levine Cava, Mayor, Miami-Dade County
- o The Honorable *Lamar Fisher*, Mayor, Broward County
- The Honorable *Jeff Hmara*, Immediate Past Chair, Florida League of Cities
 Transportation & Intergovernmental Relations Committee, TCRPC Council Member;
 Village of Royal Palm Beach Councilman
- o The Honorable *Gregg Weiss*, Mayor, Palm Beach County
- o The Honorable Craig Cates, Mayor, Monroe County; SFRPC Council Member

3:20 p.m. Public Comment

3:25 p.m. Next Steps

3:30 p.m. Adjourn

Thank you for attending & your continued support of the South Florida and Treasure Coast Regional Planning Councils!