

AGENDA ITEM # IV.E.

DATE: JANUARY 23, 2023

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

FROM: STAFF

SUBJECT: NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT / ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Prior to January of each year when the Council ratifies its Executive Committee, the Chair elects a Nominating Committee to recommend a new member to fill the position of Secretary as the Immediate-Past Chair rotates off the Committee and the remaining members advance in position. The Nominating Committee was appointed in November 2022 by Chair Geller and consists of Immediate Past Chair Bailey (Miami-Dade County), First Vice Chair and Nominating Committee Chair Kaufman (Monroe County), and Councilmember Udine (Broward County).

The Nominating Committee met on January 6, 2023 to develop its recommendation for presentation to the Board at its January 23rd Council meeting. After a brief conversation, the Nominating Committee unanimously voted to recommend that the Council maintain its current Executive Committee for the upcoming year. Given the full work schedule and pending retirement of the Council's Executive Director on October 31, 2023 due to FRS DROP regulations and Florida Statute, the Nominating Committee recommends that the Council minimize additional transitions until such time that a new executive director is selected.

The current members of the Executive Committee are:

Chair - Steve Geller (Broward County)
First Vice Chair - Sam Kaufman (Monroe County- Municipal)
Second Vice Chair - Beam Furr (Broward County)
Treasurer - René García (Miami-Dade County)
Secretary - Michelle Lincoln (Monroe County)
Immediate Past Chair - Mario J. Bailey (Miami-Dade County, Governor's Appointee)

Recommendation

Ratify the slate of Council Officers for 2023.



SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL COUNCILMEMBERS, EX OFFICIOS JANUARY 2023

Senator Steve Geller, (Chair), Commissioner, Broward County Samuel Kaufman, (First Vice Chair), Vice Mayor, Key West Quentin "Beam" Furr, (Second Vice Chair), Commissioner, Broward County Senator René García, (Treasurer), Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Michelle Lincoln, (Secretary), Commissioner, Monroe County Mario J. Bailey, (Immediate Past Chair), Governor's Appointee Miami-Dade County Frank H. Caplan, Councilmember, Village of Key Biscayne Craig Cates, Mayor Pro Tem, Monroe County Joseph Corradino, Mayor, Village of Pinecrest Oliver G. Gilbert, III, Vice Chair and Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Cary Goldberg, Governor's Appointee Broward County Denise Horland, Councilmember, City of Plantation, (appointed January 17, 2023) Kionne McGhee, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County Greg Ross, Mayor, Cooper City Michael Udine, Commissioner, Broward County Isabel Cosio Carballo, Executive Director Sam Goren, *Legal Counsel*

Ex Officio Members

Jason Andreotta, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Dat Huynh, Florida Department of Transportation, District Six

Lorraine Mayers, South Florida Water Management District



Statement of Organization

~ Adopted April 26, 2021 ~

7.0 - Officers, Term of Office, and Duties

- (1) The regular January meeting shall be the annual meeting of the Council and shall be for the purpose of electing the new officers and conducting such other business as may come before the members. The Council shall elect from its membership the following officers: Chair, First Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary. It is the express intent of this provision that at all times there shall be a balanced representation among the member governments and governor's appointees as members of the Executive Committee so that there is at least one (1) county or municipal representative from each County. Each member so elected shall serve for one (1) year or until reelected or a successor is elected. It is the intent of the Council that Executive Committee Members shall be advanced in his/her respective positions each year, so long as such Council Member continues to serve as an appointed member, from Secretary to Treasurer, Treasurer to Second Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair to First Vice-Chair, First Vice-Chair to Chair, in that order.
- (2) The newly elected officers shall be declared installed following their election and shall assume the duties of office.
 - (a) The Chair shall be responsible for overseeing the organization of the work of the Council; for seeing that all policies of the Council are carried out; for signing any contract or other instrument which the Council deems in its interest; and for presiding over all Council meetings. The Chair, or a designated Council Member, shall be an exofficio member of all committees. Notwithstanding the above, all renewal contracts can be signed by the Executive Director after review and written approval by General Counsel. Any new contracts can be signed by the Executive Director after review and written approval by the General Counsel, and 48 hours following transmittal to the Chair of the proposed contract which has been approved in writing by the General Counsel.

- (b) The First Vice-Chair shall act in the Chair's absence or inability to act. The First Vice-Chair shall perform such other functions as may be assigned by the Chair or the Council.
- (c) The Second Vice-Chair shall act in the Chair's and First Vice-Chair's absence or inability to act. The Second Vice-Chair shall perform such other functions as may be assigned by the Chair or the Council.
- (d) The Treasurer shall be responsible for general oversight of the financial affairs of the Council and such other duties as may be assigned by the Chair or the Council.
- (e) The Secretary shall be responsible for minutes for the meeting, keeping the roll of members, and such other duties as may be assigned by the Chair or the Council.

(3)

- (a) There shall be an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair, First Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, and the most recent Past Chair still in continuous service on the Council. If there is no most recent Past Chair still in continuous service, the Executive Committee may be comprised of five (5) members.
- (b) The Executive Committee shall act for and on behalf of the Council and shall take such action as may reasonably be necessary to fulfill the duties, functions and responsibilities of the Council as if a quorum were present. It is the intention of the Council that other members present at a Council meeting where a quorum is not present and where the Executive Committee shall act for and on behalf of the Council, shall be permitted to fully participate in the proceedings and matters then pending before the Council or the Executive Committee.
- (c) Where, in the opinion of the Chair of the Executive Committee, an emergency situation exists the Executive Committee may convene at the principal office of the Council, and act in response to the emergency situation. For purposes of this section, an "emergency situation" is defined as an event which is, unforeseen, unexpected, or time sensitive, in which there is not sufficient time for the full Council to meet or is a sudden or unforeseen natural or manmade event that necessitates immediate action for and on behalf of the Council. An emergency situation is not a self-created matter by a member or members of the Council. Any meeting and action taken by the Executive Committee in response to the declared emergency situation shall be ratified by the Council at the next regular meeting.