

Isabel Cosio Carballo, MPA Executive Director

South Florida Regional Planning Council 1 Oakwood Boulevard, Suite 250 Hollywood, FL 33020 Mario Bailey, Chair SFRPC

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 22, 2021

Contact: Jennie Sullivan 954.924.3653 | jsullivan@sfrpc.com

THE COUNCIL WELCOMES A NEWLY ELECTED EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND BOARD MEMBERS WITH BEST WISHES TO OUTGOING MEMBERS FOR THEIR SERVICE AND SUPPORT

HOLLYWOOD, FL – February 22, 2021. The South Florida Regional Planning Council (SFRPC) experienced many challenges during 2020, as did the rest of the world. However, as change often does, it brought about many good opportunities for growth and a new chapter for the Council and South Florida Region. On behalf of the Council and its staff, we would like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing members and give a warm welcome to our newly appointed Councilmembers.

With gratitude and sincere appreciation for your leadership, dedication, and many contributions to regional collaboration and the South Florida Regional Planning Council over the years:

- The Honorable Daniella Levine Cava, Miami-Dade County Mayor, who served as Immediate Past Chair in 2020 and Councilmember from 2015 2020.
- The Honorable Patty Asseff, Governor's Appointee (Broward), former City of Hollywood Commissioner and Chair
 of the Broward County League of Cities, who served on the Council from 2000 January 2021, and as Chair in 2007
 and 2016. In addition, Mrs. Asseff was Chair of both the Southeast Florida Clean Cities Coalition from 2000 January 2021 and the SFRPC Revolving Loan Board from 2008 January 2021.
- The Honorable Margaret Bates, City of Lauderhill Commissioner, who served as a Councilmember from 2008 2020 and Revolving Loan Fund Board Member from 2017 2020.
- The Honorable David Rice, Monroe County Commissioner, who served the Council from 2003 July 2006, then again from 2014 January 2021.
- The Honorable José "Pepe" Díaz, Miami-Dade County Commissioner and Chair of the Miami-Dade County Commission, who served the Council from 2007 2009 and then again from 2017 2021.
- The Honorable Sandy Walters, Monroe County Governor's Appointee, who joined the Council in 2005 and served till 2020. She also served as Chair in 2009 and 2015. Additionally, she served as a member of the Florida Regional Council Association (FRCA) from 2005 - 2020, and as Chair of the Florida Regional Councils Association Board from 2019 - 2020.

Additionally, we are delighted to welcome our newly appointed Board Members:

- The Honorable René García, Senator and Miami-Dade County Commissioner, who brings with him more than 20 years of public service experience as a Councilman for the City of Hialeah, State Representative, and State Senator. Elected in 2020 as the County Commissioner for District 13, he truly believes in the importance of balancing the economic progress and growth of a community with the social needs of its people.
- The Honorable Oliver Gilbert, III, Miami-Dade County Commissioner, Vice Chairman of the Miami-Dade County Commission, and Chair of the Miami-Dade Transportation Planning Organization, who was born and raised in the

City of Miami Gardens. After obtaining his law degree from the University of Miami he answered his calling and entered public service.

- The Honorable Ana Ziade, Mayor of North Lauderdale, who is the first woman to ever be elected into office in the City's history. Mayor Ziade brings with her 30 years of experience in the legal field which helps guide her in all decisions she makes for the betterment of our Region.
- The Honorable Eddie Martínez, Monroe County Commissioner, brings with him more than 30 years of experience as a professional land surveyor. He is well known for his vast knowledge and experience with boundary disputes as an expert witness.

The Council welcomes Mario J. Bailey as the newly elected Chair for 2021; Broward County Mayor and Senator Steve Geller, former Chair and First Vice Chair for 2021; Key West Commissioner Samuel Kaufman as Second Vice Chair; Broward County Commissioner Quentin "Beam" Furr as Treasurer; and Bay Harbor Islands Councilmember Jordan Leonard, appointed by the Miami-Dade League of Cities; and Mayor Greg Ross, Mayor of the City of Cooper City and Immediate Past Chair.

"We wish the very best to our outgoing members and wish them well in their next endeavors, whether new undertakings and partnerships, or retirement. Their dedication and service to our region will always be appreciated and they will be missed. It has truly been a pleasure to work with this board and the staff of the SFRPC during one of the most challenging and uncertain times in our history. We stand ready to assist our community and anticipate great things for the years to come by providing our region's leaders with the support, technical assistance, tools, information, and regional coordination they need to succeed and ensure that South Florida continues to be a vibrant and beautiful place to work and live."

Mario Bailey, Chair

Since 1974, the South Florida Regional Planning Council has served as the regional planning agency for Monroe, Miami-Dade, and Broward counties. It is governed by a public/private board of county and municipal elected and appointed officials from three counties. The Council supports the region's elected leaders and public, private, and nonprofit stakeholders through regional, collaborative planning and the development and implementation of programs and strategies shaping a better future for South Florida. The Council's mission is to identify the long-term challenges and opportunities facing Southeast Florida and assist the region's leaders in developing and implementing creative strategies that result in more prosperous communities.

For more information about the SFRPC and the services offered, please visit: https://sfregionalcouncil.org/.

###