

AGENDA ITEM # IV.E.

DATE: JANUARY 25, 2021

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS

FROM: STAFF

SUBJECT: NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT / ELECTION OF OFFICERS

\_\_\_\_\_

In January of each year the Council Board elects its Executive Committee following the recommendation of the Nominating Committee. The current members of the Executive Committee are:

Chair – Steve Geller (Broward County)
First Vice Chair - Vacant
Second Vice Chair – Mario Bailey (Governor's Appointee – Miami-Dade County)
Treasurer – Samuel Kaufman, (Monroe County – Municipal)
Secretary – Quentin "Beam" Furr, Secretary
Immediate Past-Chair – Mayor Greg Ross (Broward County – Municipal)

The Nominating Committee will convene in advance of the Council Meeting to develop recommendations to fill any vacancies. According to the Council's Statement of Organization, the Nominating Committee will make recommendations for the following positions: Chair, First Vice Chair, Second Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary.

The Council's Statement of Organization (January 2020), Section 7.0 Officers, Term of Office and Duties, (3) (a) states that "There shall be an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair, First Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, and the most recent Past Chair still in continuous service on the Council. If there is no most recent Past Chair still in continuous service, the Executive Committee shall be comprised of five (5) members. (emphasis added)

A current list of the Councilmembers is provided herewith for easy reference.

## Recommendation

Information Only - This will become an action item upon the development of recommendations by the Nominating Committee.



## SOUTH FLORIDA REGIONAL PLANNING COUNCIL COUNCILMEMBERS, EX OFFICIOS January 2021

Steve Geller (Chair), Mayor, Broward County Mario J. Bailey, (Second Vice Chair), Governor's Appointee Miami-Dade County Samuel Kaufman, (Treasurer), Commissioner, Key West Beam Furr, (Secretary), Commissioner, Broward County Greg Ross (Immediate Past Chair), Mayor, Cooper City Patricia T. Asseff, Governor's Appointee Broward County Michelle Coldiron, Mayor, Monroe County Joseph Corradino, Mayor, Village of Pinecrest Jose "Pepe" Diaz, Chair, Miami-Dade County Cary Goldberg, Governor's Appointee Broward County Jorden Leonard, Council Member, Bay Harbor Islands Jean Monestime, Commissioner, Miami-Dade County David Rice, Commissioner, Monroe County Michael Udine, Vice Mayor, Broward County Ana M. Ziade, Mayor, North Lauderdale Isabel Cosio Carballo, Executive Director Sam Goren, Legal Counsel

Jason Andreotta, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Laura Corry, South Florida Water Management District

Dat Huynh, Florida Department of Transportation, District Six

Ex Officio Members