County of Monroe

Planning & Environmental Resources Department

Marathon Government Center 2798 Overseas Highway, Suite 400 Marathon, FL 33050

Voice: (305) 289-2500 FAX: (305) 289-2536



Board of County Commissioners:

Mayor Heather Carruthers, District 3 Mayor Pro Tem Michelle Coldiron, District 2 Craig Cates, District 1 David Rice, District 4 Sylvia J. Murphy, District 5

We strive to be caring, professional, and fair

SENT VIA US CERTIFIED MAIL #70190140000112253039

January 29, 2020

Ray Eubanks, Plan Processing Administrator Department of Economic Opportunity Community Planning and Development 107 East Madison Street Caldwell Building, MSC 160 Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Re: Monroe County Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan (Adopted Amendment 19-08ACSC)

Dear Mr. Eubanks,

Pursuant to Chapter 163.3184(4), Florida Statutes the Monroe County Planning Department, acting within the jurisdiction of the Florida Keys Area of Critical State Concern (designated pursuant to Section 380.05, F.S.), hereby transmits one (1) hard copy and two (2) compact disks of the adopted amendment to the Monroe County Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan. This amendment is subject to State Coordinated Review Process, Section 163.3184(4), Florida Statutes, and the County requests the State Land Planning Agency to formally review the Comprehensive Plan amendment. This amendment was heard and adopted at a special meeting of the Board of County Commissioners on **December 11, 2019 (Ordinance 046-2019).**

Copies of the amendment package and ORC response are also being provided to the South Florida Regional Council, Department of State Florida Bureau of Historic Preservation, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Florida Department of Transportation, United States Navy (Naval Air Station Key West - Boca Chica), South Florida Water Management District, City of Key Colony Beach, Village of Islamorada, City of Layton, City of Marathon and City of Key West. Copies of the supporting data and analysis were previously included in the transmittal package.

The following table summarizes the items in the amendment package:

Amendment Name	Description	PC	ВОСС
		Hearing Date	Hearing Dates
Ordinance No. 046-2019 Adopting an ordinance amending the Monroe County Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan	AN ORDINANCE BY THE MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AMENDING MONROE COUNTY YEAR 2030 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN, POLICY 101.5.31 MAXIMUM HEIGHT WITHIN OCEAN REEF, A GATED MASTER PLANNED COMMUNITY, TO INCLUDE ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE TO ALLOW STRUCTURES WITHIN OCEAN REEF TO EXCEED THE MAXIMUM HEIGHT LIMIT, NOT TO EXCEED 60 FEET, UPON EVIDENCE SUBMITTED THAT THE HEIGHT HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE OCEAN REEF COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION, INC. ("MASTER ASSOCIATION"), AS PROPOSED BY SMITH HAWKS, PL ON BEHALF OF OCEAN REEF CLUB, INC.; PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY; PROVIDING FOR REPEAL OF CONFLICTING PROVISIONS; PROVIDING FOR TRANSMITTAL TO THE STATE LAND PLANNING AGENCY AND THE SECRETARY OF STATE; PROVIDING FOR INCLUSION IN THE MONROE YEAR 2030 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.	July 31, 2019	September 18, 2019 December 11, 2019

Thank you in advance for your timely review of these materials. Should you have any questions about the amendment package, please contact Cheryl Cioffari, Assistant Director of Planning at (305) 289-2500 and cioffari-cheryl@monroecounty-fl.gov.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Cioffari

Assistant Director of Planning

Enclosures

CC/ia

cc: Comprehensive Plan Review, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Plan Review, Florida Department of Environmental Protection

Deena Woodward, Florida Department of State, Bureau of Historic Preservation

Scott Sanders, Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission

Kenneth Jeffries, Florida Department of Transportation

Isabel Cosio Carballo, South Florida Regional Planning Council

Terry Manning, South Florida Water Management District

Ashley Monnier, United States Navy, Naval Air Station

Ty Harris, Planning Director, Village of Islamorada

Cathy Henniger, City of Key Colony Beach

Patrick Wright, Planning Director, City of Key West

George Garrett, Planning Director, City of Marathon

Norman Anderson, City of Layton

Board of County Commissioners (w/o enclosures)

Bob Shillinger, County Attorney (w/o enclosures)

Roman Gastesi, County Administrator (w/o enclosures)

Christine Hurley, Assistant County Administrator (w/o enclosures)

Emily Schemper, Senior Director of Planning & Environmental Resources (w/o enclosures)