

SOUTH FLORIDA LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE - DISTRICT 11

MEETING MINUTES (Draft)

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 26, 2015 @ 10:00 AM

South Florida Regional Planning Council 3440 Hollywood Blvd, Suite 140 Hollywood, FL 33021

www.sfrpc.com/lepc.htm

1. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Chair Gary Koen welcomed the members at 10 am.

2. Introductions

In attendance were Robert Avery, Planning Sub Chair Eric Borbe, Kenton Brown, Ed Carberry, Bob Christensen, Dave Dungan, Jamie Johnson, Troy Johnson, Jim Jutras, Vince Kalson, Chair Gary Koen, Eduardo Koenig, Bret Maxwell, Vice Chair Ray McDonald, Greg Namoff, SERC TTF Rep Steve Shaw, Gregory Thompson, Alvaro Tonanez, Irene Toner, Jose Tovar, Freda Vaughn and SoFlaLEPC Coordinator Manny Cela. Also present were Eric Pugh, Lisa Gordon and Bridgette Bucell. Excused were SoFlaLEPC HazMat Plan Chair Miguel Ascarrunz, Keith Carson, Mauricio Gomez, Alex Martinez, Maria Salgado and Charles Tear.

3. Previous Meeting Summary

Gregory Thompson moved the minutes, seconded by Steve Shaw and approved unanimously.

4. Subcommittee Reports

Training Subcommittee (Manny Cela)

Coordinator Manny Cela reported to the Committee on the current status of training. Mr. Cela described in detail the nine classes already offered this year, including the recently completed Chlorine in Transportation six-day class. He reminded the members that a briefing on this class will be available in the presentations section of the meeting. Mr. Cela also mentioned that a HazMat 160 class is in its second of four weeks at MDFR. Attendance is holding strong at the maximum 26 students. Yearly projections put the SoFlaLEPC at 489 students and nearly 9,700 student hours. Training funds are nearly exhausted. Next contract runs October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016.

Mr. Cela reported that the 2016 HazMat Training Symposium and Competition would take place January 20-22, 2016 in Daytona Beach once again in conjunction with Fire Rescue East. There is an opportunity to provide travel sponsorships for some hazmat teams from the Region wishing to represent the South Florida LEPC and also a need to support the event by purchasing some supplies. Mr. Gregory Thompson made a motion to support the event as described. The motion was seconded by Jamie Johnson and unanimously approved.

Exercise Subcommittee (Manny Cela)

Manny Cela explained that this is a biennial exercise year and that initial discussions would begin at the November 18 meeting.



<u>Planning Subcommittee</u> (Eric Borbe, Chair)

Sub Chair Eric Borbe reminded the members that there would be a Planning Subcommittee Meeting immediately following this meeting and that their attendance and participation in Planning activities was of utmost importance.

5. Membership Changes (Manny Cela)

Coordinator Manny Cela described the membership applications received for this meeting: Bret Maxwell, formerly Alternate for Nick Kontax (who recently retired) is moving up to Primary Member. Mr. Eduardo Koenig will serve as Mr. Maxwell's Alternate. Mr. Ed Carberry and Mr. Jim Jutras will serve as Primary and Alternate members for Borden Dairy. David Dungan will serve as Primary member for Memorial Healthcare System and Michael Stammel for Amtrak. Gregory Thompson moved the nominations, which was seconded by Jose Tovar and approved unanimously.

6. HazMat Emergency Response Plan Update (Miguel Ascarrunz, Chair)

The Committee received notification that this year's update of the HazMat Plan was approved by FDEM. The update process will begin again at the February 2016 meeting. Mr. Cela thanked the persons that contributed materials for the updated Plan: Miguel Ascarrunz, Irene Toner, Niel Batista, Ali Younes and Alain Donderiz.

7. SERC Thomas Yatabe Award and Certificates of Appreciation Selection

Manny Cela reported to the Committee that the SERC each year presents the prestigious Thomas Yatabe Award to one individual selected from each LEPC in Florida. Certificates of Appreciation are also awarded to LEPC members selected for their contributions to their respective Committees. Our recent Yatabe winners have been Ray McDonald, Alain Donderiz, Nick Kontax, Juan Farach, Charlie Boyd, Paulette Kandel and Don Perdue. For 2016, the nominations were selected by the Chair, Vice Chair and Coordinator as follows: Yatabe – Battalion Chief Steve Shaw/Fort Lauderdale FR and Certificates of Appreciation – Capt. Anthony Trim and Lt. Al Tonanez/MDFR. Mr. Cela went on to explain the activities the nominees engaged in supporting the SoFlaLEPC to warrant their selection. Ray McDonald moved the item, Gregory Thompson seconded and it was approved unanimously.

8. SoFlaLEPC Coordinator Report

Mr. Manny Cela described the HazMat Incidents List attached to the Agenda and thanked FDEM staff who had very quickly acted on suggestions from our members to improve the product. Mr. Cela reminded the members about the Planning Subcommittee Meeting that followed.

9. Members Comments and Presentations

Three presentations followed at this time: Mr. Tom Tidwell, Resident Training East Region Coordinator, CDP, FEMA; Chemical Sector Security Summit by Chair Gary Koen and Chlorine in Transportation Class Briefing by MDFR Lt. Al Tonanez.

10. Upcoming Meetings

Next meeting will take place November 18, 2015 at SFRPC.

11. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by the Chair at 11:20 am.