

## SOUTH FLORIDA LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE - DISTRICT 11

# **MEETING MINUTES**

### WEDNESDAY, JUNE 2, 2010 @ 10:00 AM

South Florida Regional Planning Council 3440 Hollywood Blvd, Suite 140 Hollywood, FL 33021 <u>www.sfrpc.com/lepc.htm</u>

Note: Action items requiring a vote are shown with a red bullet ("•").

#### 1. Welcome and Opening Remarks

The meeting was called to order by Chair George Danz at 10:05 am.

#### 2. Introductions

In attendance were Miguel Ascarrunz, James Baptiste, Niel Batista, Planning Subcommittee Chair Eric Borbe, Bob Christensen, George Colson, Chair George Danz, Michael DiGiovanni, Larry Doyle, Exercise Subcommittee Chair Juan Farach, Ana Gannon, Mike Graham, Kerck Jadotte, Jaimie Johnson, Hugh Johnston, Nick Kontax, Craig Marston (via conference call), Training Subcommittee Chair Bob Marton, Ray McDonald, Yvette McLeod, David Ostrander, Jeffry Peleg, Hugo Rodriguez, Maria Salgado, Stephen Threet, Irene Toner, Howard Vollovick and Jon Wickersham. Also present were Ron White, Debbie Martin, Jim Hite and Becky Cohen.

### 3. Previous Meeting Summary

A motion was made by Jeffry Peleg to approve the minutes from the February 17, 2010 Meeting. The motion was seconded by Larry Doyle and approved unanimously.

#### 4. Subcommittee Reports

#### Training Subcommittee (Bob Marton, Chair)

Chair Bob Marton briefed the members on recent training activities, including the April 28 HazMat Awareness class in Marathon and June 10 and 11 HazMatIQ classes in Miami and Hollywood respectively. Manny Cela further informed the members regarding negotiations to offer additional classes and training requirements for those involved in clean up operations for the BP Deepwater Horizon spill.

#### Exercise Subcommittee (Juan Farach, Chair)

Chair Juan Farach briefed the members on planning activities for the upcoming 2010 Biennial Exercise, schedule for June 4, 2010 at the Sunrise Civic Center. This included details of the April 15 Midterm Planning Conference and May 20 Final Planning Conference.



Planning Subcommittee (Eric Borbe, Chair)

Chair Eric Borbe briefed the members on activities undertaken this year for the Section 302 Facility Outreach project. Manny Cela added details pertaining to the assistance provided by Miami-Dade Fire Rescue staff, Broward Emergency Management Division personnel and other members in completing this project.

# 5. Membership Changes (Manny Cela)

Coordinator Manny Cela presented the new membership applications as follows:

- Battalion Chief Chris Musser, Monroe County Emergency Services Division, as Alternate for Irene Toner replacing Wally Romero in the Emergency Management category
- Special Operations Chief Hugo Rodriguez, City of Miami Fire Rescue, as Primary replacing Ron Khawly in the Firefighting category
- Lt. Brian Mitchell, City of Miami Fire Rescue, as Alternate for Hugo Rodriguez
- Capt. Edward Erickson, Miami-Dade Fire Rescue, as Primary replacing Rich Taylor in the Firefighting category
- Lt. Howard Vollovick, Miami-Dade Fire Rescue, as Alternate for Edward Erickson
- Battalion Chief Jeffrey Davidson, City of Hollywood Fire Rescue, as Primary replacing Robert Aspinall in the Firefighting category
- Jon Wickersham Clean Harbors General Manager, as Primary in the Local Environmental category
- John Stewart, Clean Harbors Supervisor, as Alternate for Jon Wickersham
- James Baptiste, Director of Safety/Risk, Sysco of South Florida, as Primary in the Facility Owners & Operators category
- Kerck Jadotte, Director of Facility, Sysco of South Florida, as Alternate for James Baptiste

Ana Gannon, FDEP Emergency Response Specialist as Alternate for Stephen Threet replacing Hassan Al-Buhaisi in the Local Environmental category

Jeffry Peleg moved the applications, Bob Marton seconded and the vote was unanimous.

# 6. HazMat Emergency Response Plan

Manny Cela described the process used to upgrade the Plan. Bob Marton suggested that someone should be assigned to completely redo the Plan for next year. No one volunteered. Chair George Danz requested a motion to accept the updated Plan at this meeting and allow additional updates until the deadline for submittal to the SERC on June 30, 2010. The motion was made by Bob Marton, seconded by Hugh Johnston and passed unanimously.

# 7. Selection of SERC Training Task Force Representatives

Manny Cela provided a long explanation to the members regarding the selection of SERC TTF representatives and their duties to the Committee. Jaimie Johnson moved the selection of Sgt. Mike DiGiovanni as Principal and George Colson as Alternate representatives. Bob Christensen seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

# 8. SoFlaLEPC Coordinator Report (Manny Cela)

Manny Cela distributed copies of the SERC Annual Report and explained that all current members will be automatically reappointed to new two-year terms.



# 9. **Presentations and Member Comments**

Clean Harbors made a presentation of their environmental services and activities, especially as they relate to the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Well spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

# 10. Upcoming Meetings

The next SoFlaLEPC Meeting – August 25, 2010 @ 10 am in the SFRPC Hollywood offices. Additional information on upcoming meetings, agendas and minutes can be found on the SoFlaLEPC website <u>www.sfrpc.com/lepc/meetings.htm</u>.

### 11. Adjourn

Eric Borbe motioned to adjourn the meeting at 11:30 am, which was seconded by Larry Doyle and passed unanimously.