

SOUTH FLORIDA LOCAL EMERGENCY PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2019 @ 10:00 AM

South Florida Regional Planning Council

Please note our new address: One Oakwood Blvd, <u>Suite 250</u>, Hollywood, FL 33020 www.soflalepc.org

1. Welcome and Pledge of Allegiance

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 10:02 am.

2. Introductions

In attendance were Junieth Arana, Niel Batista, Steve Collins, Jose Diaz, SERT TTF Rep Maikel Garcia, Bret Maxwell, Chair Ray McDonald, AJ Navarrete, Martha Payan, Jeffry Peleg, Benny Perez, Alfred Reid, Peter Schecter, William Senyshyn, Vice Chair Stephen Shaw, Natasha Strokin, Freda Vaughn, Keith Westin and Coordinator Manny Cela. Excused from the meeting were Rick Barrett and Eduardo Koenig. Also in attendance were Tami Price, Mary Napoli, Jahmes McLean, Jonathan Longleed, Caitlin Barker, John Chroniak, Alex Fiori, Matt Portilla, Patrick Moore, Gabriel Zahora, Kelly Gibbs, C. Arencibia, Jeff Moral, Romeo Lavarias and Rick Cicerrella.

3. Previous Meeting Summary

The minutes from the November 20, 2019 meeting were moved by Jeffry Peleg, seconded and approved unanimously.

4. Membership Changes (Manny Cela)

Coordinator Manny Cela briefed the members on the pending membership nominations from Natasha Strokin, Emergency Management Director, Memorial Healthcare System, Benny Perez, Senior Officer Specialist, Federal Bureau of Prisons, Steve Collins, ESOH Director, Cliff Berry and William Senyshyn, Regional Healthcare Liaison, Florida Department of Health. The item was moved by Maikel Garcia, seconded by Peter Schecter and approved unanimously.



5. Subcommittee Reports

<u>Training Subcommittee</u> (Manny Cela)

Coordinator Manny Cela provided an update on the training activities conducted year to date:

- One 8-hr OSHA HAZWOPER Refresher class November 13 at FIU with 20 students
- One Hybrid HazMat 160 class January to February at Monroe Fire Rescue with 24 students
- Sponsoring 34 students to attend the HazMat Symposium January 21-24 in Daytona
- FDEM E-Plan How-2-Comply Training Sessions February 19 with 57 registrations

Additional training expected includes OSHA HAZWOPER Refresher classes at the Broward EOC (March 10 with 39 registrations) and Miami-Dade DERM (July). Other training will be announced later.

Planning Subcommittee (Manny Cela)

No activities this year.

Exercise Subcommittee (Manny Cela)

An Exercise Subcommittee Meeting followed immediately to discuss the annual exercise.

6. 2019 HazMat Emergency Response Plan Update (Manny Cela)

The Coordinator will be reaching out to several County EM members for assistance in conducting an update of the Plan. The timeline requires adoption by the Committee at its next meeting in May in order to forward to FDEM for approval prior the June 30 contract deadline.

7. Awards Presentations

The Committee took the opportunity to present the 2020 Thomas Yatabe Award to Lt. Maikel Garcia for his activities in support of the South Florida LEPC. Lt. Garcia was unable to attend the January SERC meeting in Daytona where the awards are typically presented. Peter Schecter was also presented with a Certificate of Appreciation for his work with the Committee. A second Certificate was awarded to former member David Dungan and will be forwarded to his new location.

8. Presentation

John Chroniak, CBRNE/HazMat Product Specialist for ACT spoke to the Committee regarding his company's FAST-ACT Chemical Rapid Intervention Response line of products.

9. SoFlaLEPC Coordinator Report (Manny Cela)

Mr. Cela provided an update of the January SERC meetings. In particular, it was reported that the printed Emergency Response Guidebooks for 2020 will be available in the April to May timeframe. Copies will be sent to the MDFR HazMat Warehouse for distribution to local County EMs.



10. Member Comments

11. Upcoming Meetings

The next SoFlaLEPC Meeting will take place May 20, 2020 at the SFRPC office in Hollywood. The next SoFlaLEPC Exercise Subcommittee Meeting immediately followed this meeting.

12. Adjourn

Jeffry Peleg moved a motion to adjourn, which was seconded and approved unanimously at 11:30 am.