County of Monroe

Planning & Environmental Resources Department

Marathon Government Center 2798 Overseas Highway, Suite 400 Marathon, FL 33050 Voice: (305) 289-2500 FAX: (305) 289-2536



Board of County Commissioners:

Mayor Heather Caruthers, District 3 Mayor Pro Tem Michelle Coldiron, District 2 Craig Cates, District 1 David Rice, District 4 Sylvia J. Murphy, District 5

We strive to be caring, professional, and fair

Sent VIA US Certified Mail 70190140000112216393

February 24, 2020

Ray Eubanks, Plan Processing Administrator Department of Economic Opportunity Community Planning and Development 107 East Madison Street Caldwell Building, MSC 160 Tallahassee, FL 32399

RE: Monroe County Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan (Proposed Amendments) – Transmittal

Dear Mr. Eubanks,

Pursuant to Chapter 163.3184(4), Florida Statutes, the Monroe County Planning Department acting within the jurisdictions of the Florida Keys Area of Critical State Concern (designated pursuant to Section 380.05, F.S.), hereby transmits one (1) hard copy and two (2) compact disks of the proposed amendments to the Monroe County Year 2030 Comprehensive Plan. These amendments are subject to the State Coordinated Review Process, Section 163.3184(4), Florida Statutes, and the County requests the State Land Planning Agency to formally review the proposed Comprehensive Plan amendments.

Copies of the entire amendment packages, including the supporting data and analysis, are also being provided to the South Florida Regional Planning Council, Department of State Florida Bureau of Historic Preservation, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Florida Department of Transportation, United States Navy (Naval Air Station Key West – Boca Chica), South Florida Water Management District, City of Key Colony Beach, Village of Islamorada, City of Layton, City of Marathon and the City of Key West.

The following table summarizes the items in the proposed amendment package:

Amendment Name	Description	PC Hearing Date	BOCC Transmittal Hearing Date	BOCC Adoption Hearing Date
BOCC Resolution No. 032-2020	A RESOLUTION BY THE MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS TRANSMITTING TO THE STATE LAND PLANNING AGENCY AN ORDINANCE BY THE MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AMENDING THE MONROE COUNTY COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; ADOPTING THE 10-YEAR WATER SUPPLY PLAN UPDATE TO BE CONSISTENT WITH THE SOUTH FLORIDA WATER MANAGEMENT DISTRICT LOWER EAST COAST WATER SUPPLY PLAN UPDATE OF 2018; PROVIDING FOR SEVERABILITY; PROVIDING FOR REPEAL OF CONFLICTING PROVISIONS; PROVIDING FOR TRANSMITTAL TO THE STATE LAND PLANNING AGENCY AND THE SECRETARY OF STATE; PROVIDING FOR INCLUSION IN THE MONROE COUNTY COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE	November 19, 2019	January 22, 2020	

Thank you in advance for your timely review of these materials. Should you have any questions about the proposed amendments, please contact Cheryl Cioffari, Assistant Director of Planning at (305) 289-2500 or <u>cioffari-cheryl@monroecounty-fl.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Cioffari, AICP Assistant Director of Planning

Enclosures

Cc/ia: Comprehensive Plan Review, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Plan Review, Florida Department of Environmental Protection Deena Woodward, Florida Department of State, Bureau of Historic Preservation Jennifer Goff, Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission Kenneth Jeffries, Florida Department of Transportation Isabel Cosio Carballo, South Florida Regional Planning Council Terry Manning, South Florida Water Management District Ashley Monnier, United States Navy, Naval Air Station Ty Harris, Planning Director, Village of Islamorada Cathy Henniger, City of Key Colony Beach Patrick Wright, Planning Director, City of Key West George Garrett, Planning Director, City of Marathon Norman Anderson, City of Layton Board of County Commissioners (w/o enclosures) Bob Shillinger, County Attorney (w/o enclosures) Roman Gastesi, County Administrator (w/o enclosures) Christine Hurley, Assistant County Administrator (w/o enclosures) Emily Schemper, Senior Director of Planning & Environmental Resources (w/o enclosures)