Entries by Nancy Davis

Scott’s second Inaugural Speech.

Jim Murley, Executive Director, South Florida Regional Council Scott, in his second Inaugural Speech, connected bringing new jobs to Florida making the important environmental improvements to ensure we keep Florida beautiful. In the Governor’s works” But talk is cheap. We have to make investments to turn talk into reality.” Now the Legislature will talk about […]

Revitalizing Miami’s 79th Street Corridor

Miami’s 79th Street Corridor is surrounded by several hotspots including downtown, Miami International Airport and Miami Beach. Despite its close proximity to these places and access to public transportation, there is not much there to attract people passing through. The Neighborhood Housing Services of South Florida (NHSSF) is working to create a vibrant corridor where […]

Florida Brownfields Association Retreat

The Florida Brownfields Association held their annual strategic meeting at the South Florida Regional Council’s office on January 7th. Presentations were made by the Legislative & Policy, Education and Outreach, Environmental Justice & Public Health, Technical and Annual Conference Committees. An ambitious agenda was set to provide greater value to association members. Please visit the […]

79th Street Corridor

79th Street Corridor Partners in Progress Initiative and Community Action Plan – The 79th Street Corridor Partners in Progress Initiative and Community Action Plan was submitted for review at the January 5th council meeting. The 79th Street Corridor Community Action Plan provides critical information and action items that will help guide the continued transformation of […]

Sandra Walters elected as new Chair of the South Florida Regional Council

The election of Council officers took place at the South Florida Regional Council’s January 5th council meeting. Governor Appointee, Sandra Walters was elected as the Chair, Councilmember David Rice became Vice-Chair, Councilmember Xavier Suarez became Treasurer and Councilmember Patricia Asseff was selected as Secretary. Chair Stacy Ritter is now the Immediate Past Chair.